Get Involved

Apply Here to Join a 2020 Committee

MAR’s direction is led by our passionate members who volunteer their time on various committees.  We encourage all of our members to look through the list of current committees and find your place to GET INVOLVED.  Contact the Staff Liaisons for each committee for more information.

2020 Committee List and Roster

Budget & Finance Committee
Works with the CEO to prepare annual balanced budgets and consider spending requests not covered by the budget. The committee receives and reviews detailed financial reports from the MAR staff which include an analysis of the required vs. actual reserves, monthly membership counts and updates concerning the collection of NAR, CAR and MAR dues. 

Gary Newman - Chair
Jamie Pera - Vice Chair
Chris Backer - ex-officio
Katie Beacock
Margaret Deedy
Blaine Morris
Melann Mushet
Beth Sasan
Kathy Schlegel
MaryKay Yamamoto


Executive Committee 
The committee, which is comprised of the five officers of the association and the CEO, meets prior to each board meeting and as needed to discuss issues and topics important to MAR members and the association. 

Chris Backer - President
Cathy Youngling - President-Elect
Gary Newman - Treasurer
Kathee Shatter - Secretary
Mark Machado - Immediate Past President

Leadership Development and Nominating Committee
For the purpose of selecting candidates to fill unexpired seats on the 2020 Board of Directors. May be called upon to address other leadership responsibilities, including selection of 2019 special awards recipients.

Mark Machado - Chair
Chris Backer - 2020 President
Katie Beacock
Barry Crotty
Chelsea Ialeggio
Beth Sasan
Kathy Schlegel


Local Candidate Recommendation Committee (LCRC)
(Requires CREPAC Compliance). MAR Policy requires that members made their annual contribution of $148 to the REALTOR® Action Fund (RAF) (to be confirmed following dues)

Arun Burrell - Chair
Matt McPhee - Vice Chair
Katie Beacock
Sylvia Barry
Jenniffer Boesel
Anna Frost
Blaine Morris
Mary Kay Yamamoto

Government Affairs Committee
Provides timely and objective advice to the Board of Directors about the advocacy of local government issues and proposed legislation that will impact REALTORS® and Marin communities. The committee also interviews advocates and opponents of local ballot initiatives, and then sends recommendations to the trustees of MAR’s Issues Mobilization Political Action Committee on which measures to support, oppose or abstain from taking positions. 

Scott Pinsky - Chair
Chris Backer
Sylvia Barry
Katie Beacock
Kathleen Clifford
Margaret Deedy
Suzie Fitzpatrick
Anna Frost
Katie Hogan
Yoko Kasai
Tom Korzelius
Mark Machado
Stevens Manning
Kay Moore
Blaine Morris
Gary Newman
Darren Pomponio
Marilyn Riede
Toni Shroyer
Diane Wagner
Jack Wilkinson
Mary Kay Yamamoto



President's Advisory Groups

Facilities / Remodeling

Katie Beacock - Chair
Charlotte Boesel
Missy Crowe
Kathleen Clifford
Phoebe Reyes
Laurie Schenk
Kathee Shatter
Mary Kay Yamamoto


Professional Standards
Current Officers & Directors may not serve on Grievance or Pro-Standards Committees but are required to complete training as they may be called upon to ratify a professional standards case.

Grievance Committee
Mary Kay Yamamoto - Chair
Marilee Brand
Amy Glaser
Rick Keefer
Dana Kreuzberger
Matt MacPhee
Moe Rubenstein
David Smadbeck
Shari Wilkins


Professional Standards Committee
Bill McKeon - Chair
Arun Burrell
Margaret Deedy
Andy Gellepis
Barbara Ivy
Kathleen Murphy
Jerry Piro
Carol Scott
Margie Smith
Lisa Swanson
Jack Wilkinson


Young Professionals Network
Charlotte Boesel - Co-Chair
Logan Link - Co-Chair

Community News

California REALTORS®’ Supported Fair Housing and Equity Legislation Signed Into Law
Wednesday, October 6, 2021
California Existing Home Sales Temper in August
Thursday, September 23, 2021
Marin County Best Practices For The New Fire Hardening and Defensible Space Advisory, Disclosure, and Addendum
Friday, August 27, 2021

All News

Dummy Ad - Side Tile 1 Melissa Prandi
Website by Accrisoft